Super Bowl Treats

The first time I hosted a Super Bowl party it was 1980, the Pittsburgh Steelers were playing the Los Angeles Rams in Super Bowl XIV, and Bob and I were about to become engaged. Still living at home with my parents, I invited a few friends over to watch the game and I decided to tackle an ambitious recipe for Cioppino, a San Francisco style seafood bouillabaisse. What was I thinking? Heaping bowls were devoured before the third quarter kickoff and my grocery budget was shot for the week!

I never considered my culinary skills to be top shelf in the appetizer category, though I do think I’ve been ambitious at times. Somehow I once got it in my head to make a batch of Scallop & Mushroom Beggar’s Purses from a recipe in a magazine ad for a chardonnay wine (see p.77 in “Stories from My Galley”). Alas, I never thought to photograph that epic dish as they were gone in a flash! The usual party fare can be quite eclectic since it is a football game and most of the guests are more concerned with bad calls on the field and interceptions. I will always set out some salsa & chips, maybe a hot artichoke dip, and include a platter of sushi, too. Then of course there is the all-time favorite, chicken wings!

Try this recipe from retired NFL player and Food Network star, Eddie Jackson – Spicy Rum Chicken Wings, and score extra points. The marinade is a mix of dark rum, lime juice, soy sauce, habanero peppers, ginger, allspice, garlic and brown sugar. Wow, spike the ball in the end zone for these wings!

https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/eddie-jackson/spicy-rum-chicken-wings-3364092

Spicy Rum Chicken Wings

In 1980, the Steelers went on to defeat the Rams, 31 to 19 and Terry Bradshaw was named MVP. We’ll have to wait to see what teams are on the playing field for Super Bowl LVI!

Leave a comment